
Exam Overview
IBPS PO
IBPS PO 2026 (CRP PO/MT-XVI): check 7,565 revised vacancies, participating banks, exam dates, eligibility, syllabus, pattern, salary and preparation.
Subjects
0
Mock Tests
0
Resources
5
FAQs
0
Subjects
Jump directly into a subject test.
Subjects will appear here once available.
IBPS PO Vacancy 2026: 7,565 Bank-Wise Vacancies
Latest details for this resource.
The IBPS PO Vacancy 2026 has been revised to 7,565 Probationary Officer and Management Trainee vacancies under CRP PO/MT-XVI. The recruitment cycle originally started with 6,715 reported vacancies, increased to 7,365 in July and was revised again to 7,565 vacancies through the latest vacancy update dated 27 August 2026. IBPS currently lists both the 27 August corrigendum and the updated vacancy notice on its official PO/MT-XVI recruitment page.
The latest vacancy distribution covers posts reported by participating public sector banks, including Bank of Baroda, Canara Bank, Bank of Maharashtra, Indian Bank, Punjab National Bank and others.
Latest Update: Bank of Baroda currently has the highest reported vacancy with 1,900 posts, followed by Canara Bank with 1,500 and Bank of Maharashtra with 1,100 vacancies. Union Bank of India's vacancy figure is shown as NR (Not Reported).
Candidates should remember that IBPS PO vacancies are described as indicative. The number available during final allotment can depend on the requirements communicated by participating banks.
IBPS PO Vacancy 2026: Latest Update
The latest reported IBPS PO vacancy position is 7,565 posts.
This is important because candidates may still encounter older figures such as 6,715 or 7,365 on webpages, videos and older recruitment updates. Those numbers correspond to earlier stages of the same recruitment cycle.
Vacancy Progression: Initial vacancies: 6,715 → First revision: 7,365 → Latest revision: 7,565
The first revision added 650 posts to the original count. The August revision added another 200 posts, taking the overall increase from the original announcement to 850 additional vacancies.
For candidates following IBPS PO 2026, 7,565 should therefore be treated as the current reported total as of 22 September 2026, unless IBPS publishes another corrigendum later.
IBPS PO 2026 Bank-Wise and Category-Wise Vacancy
The current category-wise and bank-wise vacancy distribution is shown below.
| Participating Bank | SC | ST | OBC-NCL | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
| Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
| Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Indian Bank | 122 | 60 | 199 | 52 | 217 | 650 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
| UCO Bank | 30 | 15 | 54 | 20 | 81 | 200 |
| Union Bank of India | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR |
| Total | 1,161 | 577 | 2,069 | 741 | 3,017 | 7,565 |
The category-wise figures above correspond to the revised vacancy distribution reported for the current cycle.
Which Bank Has the Highest IBPS PO Vacancy in 2026?
Bank of Baroda has the highest currently reported IBPS PO vacancy with 1,900 posts.
Canara Bank follows with 1,500 vacancies, while Bank of Maharashtra has reported 1,100 posts.
Together, these three banks account for 4,500 of the currently reported 7,565 vacancies, or roughly 59% of the total.
This concentration is useful to understand when looking at recruitment at a bank level, but candidates should not choose a bank preference only by looking at vacancy numbers. Posting policies, transfer possibilities, work profile, geographical presence and individual career priorities can also matter.
IBPS PO Category-Wise Vacancy 2026
The 7,565 vacancies are distributed across the major reservation categories.
| Category | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| UR | 3,017 |
| OBC-NCL | 2,069 |
| SC | 1,161 |
| EWS | 741 |
| ST | 577 |
| Total | 7,565 |
The Unreserved (UR) category accounts for the largest number of reported positions, while OBC-NCL has the next-largest allocation.
Candidates should use their appropriate category while interpreting these figures. Reservation eligibility is governed by the conditions and documentation requirements mentioned in the IBPS notification. Merely selecting a category during registration does not remove the requirement to produce valid documents at the appropriate stage.
For detailed requirements covering age relaxation, category certificates, educational qualifications and nationality, candidates should check the dedicated IBPS PO Eligibility Criteria 2026 page.
IBPS PO Participating Banks 2026
The current recruitment process covers 11 participating public sector banks:
- Bank of Baroda
- Bank of India
- Bank of Maharashtra
- Canara Bank
- Central Bank of India
- Indian Bank
- Indian Overseas Bank
- Punjab National Bank
- Punjab & Sind Bank
- UCO Bank
- Union Bank of India
The vacancy situation is not identical across all banks. Bank of Baroda currently reports 1,900 positions, making it the largest contributor to the current vacancy pool. Canara Bank contributes another 1,500 posts, while Bank of Maharashtra reports 1,100.
Indian Bank has 650 vacancies, Indian Overseas Bank has 550, Bank of India and Central Bank of India each report 500, Punjab National Bank reports 504, UCO Bank has 200 and Punjab & Sind Bank reports 161.
Union Bank of India is part of the participating-bank framework, but its vacancy count appears as NR in the latest vacancy table.
What Does 'NR' Mean in the IBPS PO Vacancy?
NR means “Not Reported". It does not mean zero vacancies.
When a bank is shown as NR in an IBPS vacancy table, the relevant vacancy number has not been reported in that published vacancy position.
This distinction matters for the current cycle because Union Bank of India is included among the participating institutions but does not currently contribute a numerical vacancy figure to the 7,565 total.
If IBPS subsequently publishes another updated vacancy statement incorporating additional vacancies, the total number could change. Candidates should therefore check the official IBPS PO/MT-XVI page whenever a new vacancy corrigendum is released.
Why Did IBPS PO Vacancies Increase?
IBPS recruitment does not operate with a permanently fixed number of posts from the beginning of every recruitment cycle.
Participating banks communicate their manpower requirements, and those requirements may be revised as recruitment progresses.
Historically, IBPS notifications describe participating-bank recruitment as a dynamic process influenced by factors such as business requirements, branch expansion, structural changes and the vacancies ultimately reported by individual banks. The final provisional allotment is based on the actual vacancies communicated under the recruitment process.
That is why candidates may see a vacancy number change after the initial notification.
Overall Increase: CRP PO/MT-XVI currently has 850 more reported posts compared with the initial vacancy figure.
Does More Vacancy Mean a Lower IBPS PO Cut-Off?
Not necessarily.
A higher number of vacancies can influence competition dynamics, but the IBPS PO cut-off cannot be calculated simply from the number of posts.
The cut-off can also be influenced by the number of candidates appearing for the examination, difficulty of the paper, candidate performance, sectional requirements, category and the number of candidates IBPS decides to shortlist for subsequent stages.
Preparation Tip: Candidates should avoid assuming that 7,565 vacancies automatically mean an easy selection or a particular cut-off. A more practical approach is to prepare sufficiently above previous qualifying levels and use mock-test performance to measure readiness.
Are IBPS PO Vacancies State-Wise?
IBPS PO recruitment should not be confused with the state/UT-based approach associated with some clerical recruitment processes.
A probationary officer is recruited into an officer cadre of the allotted participating bank, and posting and transfer policies are subsequently governed by that bank.
Therefore, applicants should be prepared for the possibility of posting outside their current city or home state. This is also one reason why understanding the participating banks can be useful before final allotment.
How Does IBPS PO Bank Allotment Work?
Clearing the preliminary examination alone does not result in bank allotment.
Candidates must progress through the stages prescribed under CRP PO/MT-XVI. The Preliminary Examination serves as the initial screening stage, followed by the Main Examination and subsequent assessment stages applicable to the cycle.
Exam Schedule: The IBPS tentative calendar scheduled the PO/MT-XVI Preliminary Examination for 22 and 23 August 2026 and the Main Examination for 4 October 2026.
Candidates who successfully complete the required stages are considered for provisional allotment according to the recruitment rules, reported vacancies and other applicable conditions.
This means that the vacancy table is important, but it is only one component of the selection process. For the complete stages and marks structure, candidates should refer to the IBPS PO Selection Process and Exam Pattern 2026 page.
Does Bank Preference Matter in IBPS PO?
The bank associated with your eventual allotment affects much more than the name written on an appointment letter.
Individual public sector banks can differ in branch networks, regional concentration, transfer policies, promotion practices and organisational structure.
Vacancy numbers can be one factor candidates consider, but they should not be the only factor.
For example, Bank of Baroda currently reports the largest number of positions, but that does not automatically make it the preferred institution for every candidate. A candidate may value geography, career mobility, organisational exposure or other employment factors differently.
The purpose of the vacancy table should therefore be to understand the available recruitment landscape rather than to predict where an individual candidate will ultimately be allotted.
IBPS PO Vacancy vs Previous Vacancy Figures
Another common source of confusion is comparing vacancy numbers from different CRP cycles without checking which recruitment year they belong to.
IBPS runs the Probationary Officer recruitment process in cycles. CRP PO/MT-XVI is the current 2026 recruitment cycle discussed on this page.
Older vacancy numbers relating to PO/MT-XV, PO/MT-XIV or other previous cycles should not be mixed with the current 7,565 vacancies.
Before comparing vacancy information, check these three details:
- CRP number
- Publication date
- Vacancy revision date
For the current recruitment, the relevant designation is CRP PO/MT-XVI, and the latest vacancy update currently listed by IBPS is dated 27 August 2026.
What Candidates Should Do After Checking the Vacancy
Vacancy data is useful for understanding the scale of recruitment, but it should not change the fundamentals of preparation.
Candidates preparing for the Main Examination should now concentrate on section-specific practice, data analysis and interpretation, reasoning, English, banking and financial awareness, current affairs and descriptive preparation based on the current exam pattern.
Next Major Exam: The IBPS PO Main Examination is scheduled for 4 October 2026. Candidates should now prioritise improving accuracy, speed and overall score rather than repeatedly trying to estimate selection chances from vacancy numbers alone.
Use the IBPS PO Syllabus 2026 page to identify all topics and the IBPS PO Preparation Strategy 2026 page to build a revision and mock-test schedule.
Mock Tests
Timed practice to simulate the real exam.
Mock tests will be added soon.